top of page

My Journey to Pilates and How it Changed My Life

Updated: Aug 28, 2020

Life is strange and you can go through things you don't understand until you realize it brings you to a place you love.  Never thought that a fall off a 17 hand horse (broken pelvis in 2 spots, nerve damage right leg, and a 6 hour back surgery) would change my life for the better.


My very talented surgeon, Dr. Stephen Schlopper, did a fantastic job on my L4 L5 back fusion, plus the rods and screws for my spondylolisthesis.  That wasn't the best thing he did f or me.  What was the best was telling me to take Pilates Lessons.


We moved to Northern California about that time and I started looking for Pilates Classes.  There was a resort just a mile down the road from us that had Pilates.  We joined the gym at the resort and I went to take my first Pilates Class.  Tina, the instructor, was very kind and knowledgeable.  So I started my first class and was wondering what was I doing there?  It was so foreign to me and I even left that first class early.  However, I did go back.


Over time, I learned that Pilates was not just core strength, but also focuses on stability in the body and control, as well as balance and posture.  I found that my body was feeling better, that I was standing taller, and had a sense of general well being.  I also realized that some of the movements involved your brain, making it a true mind-body exercise.


After 5 years, I decided to become a Mat Instructor.  I received my first certification in mat instruction in 2013.  I was teaching in Southern California and after moving to Tennessee, I found Patty Yoga who let me rent space at the Balanced You Studio.  A couple years later, I met Allison Butler who had a reformer and I started taking lessons from her and realized that I needed to be certified with the apparatus.  I started my apparatus journey in 2018 working with Bambi Watt.  Bambi trained with Ramona who worked with Joseph Pilates.


Today, I expect my certification to be complete by the end of the year.  I have about a dozen clients who know the benefits that Pilates gives them.  Balance, posture, clothes fitting better and feeling stronger are the comments I hear. 


Joseph Pilates was a true miracle worker and I am proof of that.


If you have any questions feel free to email me at susiekaplar@gmail.com, or on facebook, Pilates With Susie.  If you are curious and want to see the apparatus, let me know and I will give you a "tour" of the studio.



35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page